Posted by: Peter Quirk | September 15, 2008

Relocating a realXtend server

Finally! My server hardware has been relocated, upgraded and installed. The job was much more complicated than anyone expected, but it’s working now. My server is now on a new subnet, in a new building, a new network domain, and hence a lot of things have to change. My heartfelt thanks to Michael F. who labored long and hard to relocate a lot of servers, storage and network gear. My server is just a tiny part of this. Here’s what I had to do to get my server working again.

To FQDN or not?

My original setup did not use FQDNs because the machine was running in an engineering domain where DNS is not used. Hence all addresses were hardcoded IP addresses. In the new lab, DNS is available, so I thought I should switch to FQDNs. When I did that. I discovered that the TCP/IP setup on my Windows 2008 Server returns IPv6 addresses when resolving FQDNs. That screws up a lot of things since the HTTPsettings are coded as IPv4 addresses. In the interest of getting the server the server working today, I switched back to hardcoded IP addresses while I take my time to understand IPv6 and DNS in this setup. I’ll post another article on IPV6 and realXtend when I’ve worked out the wrinkles. From correspondence with the realXtend team it’s clear that there may not have been any formal testing of IPv6.

With help from Tommi Hollstrom from Adminotech (one of the founding companies of the realXtend non-profit), here are the steps for a non-FQDN setup.

Authentication Server

  • Change IP address in HttpSettings.xml
  • Change IP address in AuthenticationSettings.xml
  • Change MS-SQL/MySQL settings if you use an ip address in the connection string. I was using the default SQLite, so I did need to perform this step

AvatarStorage Server

  • Change IP address in HttpSettings.xml
  • Change MS-SQL/MySQL settings if you use an ip address in the connection string. I was using the default SQLite, so I did need to perform this step

RexServer

  • Change IP addresses in each region file in the regions directory
  • Change MS-SQL/MySQL settings if you use an ip address in the connection string. I was using the default SQLite, so I did need to perform this step

Authentication.db (updated 9/16/08)

If you did not use FQDNs previously, or the FQDNs of the AvatarStorage server or Grid server have changed, you’ll need to change the address portions of these fields:

  • dbo.users.AvatarStorageURL
  • dbo.users.GridURL
  • dbo.userfriends.authenticationAddress

I used the SQLiteManager add-in for Firefox to make the edits since I had relatively few users defined on my system.

TrustStore.xml

If you have edited TrustStore.xml to add the external address of the authentication server, you’ll need to update its address.

Leave a Reply

Categories

